Information for each code

Error number

This number consists of three parts – the application_code, the error_ID and the error_type.

  • Application_code:
    A three-letter code assigned by the Ministry to identify each software application (eg, MHS = mental health, NMS = NMDS). For the standard error message that applies to more than one software application, the application code is NHS.
  • Error_ID:
    This is a unique number (eg, 1003).
  • Error_type:
    Severity of message (E = error, W = warning).


Error type description

A detailed description of the error and suggestions for why it may have arisen.

Error message

This is the message that is sent back to providers. It may contain substitution parameters (prefixed with ‘%’) which the program fills in with the particular value (eg, the value ‘%2’ is not a valid value for the field ‘%1’). Where the error message is listed as ‘to be assigned’, this error number is not currently used.