The Long COVID Expert Advisory Group was established in May 2022 and completed its work in November 2022. They assessed the evidence on long COVID to see how it related to Aotearoa New Zealand, and to help develop recommendations for clinical practice and guidelines.


You can read the guidelines that were produced at the Ministry of Health Website


  • Dr Martin Chadwick (Chair) - Chief Allied Health Professions Officer within the Ministry of Health.
  • Dr Donna Cormack (Kāti Mamoe, Kai Tahu) – Senior Researcher, Department of Public Health University of Otago.
  • Dr Arran Culver – Deputy Director-General, Mental Health and Addiction Directorate, Ministry of Health.
  • Jo Hikaka (Ngāruahine) - Research fellow at University of Auckland.
  • Rāwā Karetai Wood Bradley – Principle Advisor to Deputy Chief Executive, Strategy, Policy and Performance, Ministry of Disabled People and lived experience with disability.
  • Rawiri Keenan (Te Ati Awa/Taranaki) - Leader and educator of Māori general practitioners.
  • Luke Maclean-McMahon – Lived experience of Long COVID, Cook Island Maori with Irish and Scottish.
  • Jen Mepham - Chair Physiotherapy NZ, Cardiorespiratory Special Interest group and physiotherapist working at Mercy Hospital, Dunedin.
  • Cathy O’Malley - General manager strategy, primary and community at Te Whatu Ora, Nelson Marlborough.
  • Sharon Russell - Associate Chief of Allied Health Scientific and Technical professions officer at Te Whatu Ora Waitematā.
  • Emily Sorby - Māori Director Starship Community at Te Whatu Ora Auckland.
  • Dr Ian Town - Chief Science Advisor within the Ministry of Health.
  • Robyn Whittaker - Clinical Director of Innovation at the Institute for Innovation and Improvement, Te Whatu Ora Waitematā.
  • Juanita Woodhouse - Lived experience of long COVID, New Zealand Māori.