Te Aka Whai Ora welcomes three new Board appointments, Kim Ngarimu (Te Aitanga ā Mate, Ngāti Porou), Ben Dalton (Ngāpuhi, Ngati Porou) and Helmut Modlik (Ngāti Toa Rangatira).  

The appointments were announced today by the Associate Minister of Health, Hon Peeni Henare.   

“These members bring a wealth of knowledge in Te Tiriti o Waitangi, mātauranga Māori, kaupapa Māori approaches, commissioning, governance and financial management. They join five other members, one of whom I’ve reappointed, to make up a balanced board of four wāhine and four tāne,” says Minister Henare.  

Kim Ngarimu, of Te Aitanga ā Mate and Ngāti Porou, has been appointed as the Deputy Chair for a three-year term.  

“Kim Ngarimu is the Director of Tāua Limited, a consultant company specialising in public policy and public management, and the Deputy Chair of Te Kaunihera Rata o Aotearoa, Medical Council of New Zealand. She brings with her a deep understanding of the machinery of government and executive level experience as a former Deputy Secretary at Te Puni Kōkiri. She is also a system level thinker, strategist, and influencer with proven capability in stakeholder engagement,” says Minister Henare.  

Ben Dalton and Helmut Modlik have been appointed as members for a three-year term.  

“Ben Dalton is a resilient, disciplined, diligent and determined leader. He currently works as the Deputy Chief Executive at the Ministry of Housing and Urban Development. Like Ms Ngarimu, he brings to his role government leadership experience at a Chief Executive and Deputy Chief Executive level. He also has entrepreneurial experience through his Chief Operating Officer role for the Provincial Development Unit of the Provincial Growth fund.  

“Helmut Modlik brings an extensive network across government and iwi, and a positive reputation for making real change. He is the current Tumu Whakarae of Te Rūnanga o Toa Rangatira and a former Board member of PHARMAC, Capital & Coast DHB, and the Health Information Standards Organisation. He has strong executive and governance experience, including in public health, and a proven capability to advance Māori outcomes at an iwi level,” says Minister Henare.  

Reflecting on the significance of these appointments, Te Aka Whai Ora Chair Tipa Mahuta is delighted to strengthen the strategic leadership for what is an ambitious work programme.   

“These appointments mark an exciting chapter for Te Aka Whai Ora, as we build on the momentum achieved in our first year and continue our relentless focus on pae ora – good health for our whānau, our communities, and our health sector workers.” 

Current Te Aka Whai Ora Board members include:  

  • Tipa Mahuta (Chair) – Waikato, Maniapoto, Ngāpuhi  
  • Dr Mataroria Lyndon – Ngāti Hine, Ngāpuhi, Ngāti Whātua, Ngāti Wai, Waikato  
  • Steven McJorrow – Ngāti Kahungunu, Ngāti Moe  
  • Awerangi Tamihere – Ngāti Kauwhata, Rangitāne, Ngāti Porou, Rongowhakaata, Kāi Tahu  
  • Fiona Pimm (reappointed member) – Ngāi Tahu, Kāti Māmoe, Waitaha.