Te Whatu Ora – Health New Zealand will be a new organisation established to lead the day-to-day running of the health system across New Zealand, with functions delivered at local, district, regional and national levels. It will merge the functions of the 20 existing DHBs, its regional divisions and district offices ensuring continuity of services in the health system.

Te Whatu Ora will take on the operational functions of the Ministry of Health, such as managing national contracts, so the Ministry can refocus and strengthen its role as chief strategic advisor and kaitiaki (steward) of Aotearoa New Zealand’s health and disability system.

Te Whatu Ora will manage all health services, including hospital and specialist services, and primary and community care. Hospital and specialist services will be planned nationally and delivered more consistently across the country.

Primary health, wellbeing and community-based services will be planned and then purchased through the four regional divisions of Te Whatu Ora. Each region will work with their district offices, located closer to local communities, to develop and implement plans based on local needs to improve the health and wellbeing of communities.

Te Whatu Ora will also be responsible for improving services and outcomes across the health system. We will do this in partnership with the Māori Health Authority.